Reading and drinking your way through summer

     You’d have to be living under a very, very, very large rock to not know that we here on the mainland are being boiled alive in our skins this summer. 

     Yesterday I took the day off. I laid around and read a fairly lite novel the whole of the day; finished it late last night. It helped take my mind off the ongoing blast from hell taking place outdoors and my continual moping and griping over shut windows and stale A/C’d air on top of checking in with the news to see how the Financial Circus in Washington DC was, or was not, moving along.

     It’s been way too long since I’ve taken such a day, and I have to tell you: it was the thing to do. The desire to bite the back end out of a charging grizzly bear was absent when I woke up this morning; this being a reeeeeally good thing. 

     I read one of the novels I bought on the after-Christmas sales last January: Gil McNeil’s – the beach street knitting society and yarn club. Booker Prize fiction it is not, but as I love anything that puts me into a small English village I was able to hang with it and it made for good fast entertainment. If you are offended by the f-bomb, or are British and shun the b-bomb word they use in place of our American f-bomb you might want to pass on this one. The way the protagonist relies on these words in her private thoughts as she continually gets pulled into doing things she doesn’t have time for, made her seem—well . . . maybe a tad bit frustrating at times. But it’s fiction; I got over it. 

     I’m offering you several marvelous cold drink recipes here today. When it’s this hot, we need something to comfort our misery. Sipping one of these and reading some lite fiction might be just the ticket for a break from whatever it is that is currently driving you up a wall. 

     Tonight I start on something completely different; The Professor’s House by Willa Cather. I love good introspective writing, and I have a feeling Willa will not let me down. I’m probably going to need a stiff drink while I read as the documentary I watched about her life suggested she was dealing with her own mortality as she wrote this book. 

     Hope you treat yourself to some of these delectable recipes.

Raspberry Lemonade

Makes 6 servings

 

2 cups (about 10 ounces) raspberries, rinsed

8 cups water

Juice of 4 lemons

½ cup of sugar, or to taste 

Mash the raspberries in a medium-mesh strainer with the back of a spoon until all the pulp has passed through, leaving the seeds. Combine the raspberry pulp with water and the remaining ingredients. Stir until the sugar is dissolved. Add more sugar or lemon juice, if you desire. Serve immediately or chill for up to 2 days. Always stir before serving.

Lemon Milk Shakes

In a covered electric blender, and on low speed, blend:

3 cups milk

1 – 3-3/4 oz pkg. instant lemon pudding mix

½ pint vanilla ice cream  

Blend this until mixture is frothy.

Makes four 8 oz. servings 

Iced Tea Slush 

Boil 8 tea bags in 4 cups of water for 30 minutes 

Add:

2 cans large frozen lemonade

2 cans small frozen orange juice

14 cups boiling water

2 cups bourbon or vodka (I fail to see why rum wouldn’t work, too!) 

Freeze and then thaw to a slush before serving.

Skip and Go Nakeds 

Combine the following in a blender: 

1 6 oz can lemonade concentrate

6 oz. of vodka

6 oz. of beer (not dark)

6-7 ice cubes. 

Blend it well and enjoy! 

Strawberry Spritzer 

1 pkg. (10 oz.) frozen strawberries, thawed

1 bottle white wine, chilled

14 oz. soda water, chilled

Fresh strawberries for garnish

Place undrained strawberries in a blender, cover and blend until smooth In a large glass pitcher, combine blended strawberries with win and soda water. Pour into wine glasses and garnish each with fresh strawberry. 

Daiquiri Punch

 

1 6 oz. can of limeade

6 oz. rum

12 oz. water

1-1/2 cans of Squirt soda pop

Combine and serve on ice.

                   Blended Peach Slush

1 6 oz. can pink or regular lemonade concentrate

6 oz. vodka

2 fresh peaches, peeled and sliced.

10 ice cubes 

Place all ingredients in blender. Blend until well-mixed. Serve immediately in stemmed wine glasses. 

Of course you can make this slush without the vodka . . . why, I don’t know, but you can if you feel you must. :-p

6 thoughts on “Reading and drinking your way through summer

  1. OMG!!! I haven’t heard of “skip & go nakeds” for years and years. The last time was at a bar in Washington, Iowa, very, very late at night, or rather, early in the morning. Two local gals were drinking them; My friend and i had never heard of them. To make a long story short; after the bar closed, one of the women tried running over her husband with her car.

    • Glad to hear it, Lois. As I was reading about sleet and snow storms in that novel yesterday it felt unbelievably relieving! Now—try to remind me of that once winter sets in here again…HA!

Leave a Reply

