There’s always at least one angel.

         Down through the years in random, casual conversation my mother would tell me that when it came time for her funeral service I was to be sure that someone sang her favorite hymn, “The Old Rugged Cross,” at her service. She also made it very clear that the song, “Somewhere The Sun Is Shining” was also to be a part of her funeral celebration. Blessedly, I had tucked these thoughts away, and when the day came I was determined to make good on the promise that I had made to her so many years before.

        In the final weeks before mom’s surrender to breast cancer, I knew the time was drawing near for me to begin making the arrangements. I had a good friend whose splendid singing voice my mother had always enjoyed, and I knew that mom would love for Marcia to sing the chosen songs at her memorial service. Marcia said yes as soon as I asked so I told her the two songs we would be needing. Of course locating “The Old Rugged Cross” was not going to be a problem, but Marcia was not familiar with “Somewhere the Sun Is Shining,” and I didn’t have the music in my collection. She knew I had my hands full in dealing with the impending death of my mother in addition to making the funeral arrangements so she told me not to worry. She would locate the sheet music.

        The day of mom’s funeral arrived and Marcia, true to her word, showed up with her accompanist and both requested pieces of music, performing each beautifully. I just know that mom was standing somewhere off to the side in the church that morning listening as Marcia sang.

        What I didn’t know until several weeks after the funeral were the circumstances under which Marcia finally located the music for “Somewhere The Sun Is Shining.” She shared the story in a card to me:

        “The actual title of your mom’s special song is really “Beautiful Isle of Somewhere.” My discovery of this is a story I think you’ll enjoy knowing. I was in Malone Music and Gary, the owner of the store, and I had been checking all over for the title with no luck. We were close to admitting defeat when a woman–unfamiliar to both of us as well as the other clerk in the store that day, was suddenly there while we were discussing our search. She knew the actual title and told us where to find the music! Angels are everywhere, Bec.”

There’s never been a doubt in my mind but that my mother wanted to make very sure that she had the songs of her choice, so she stopped by to lend a hand in the music shop when it was needed.

8 thoughts on “There’s always at least one angel.

  1. I think it’s wonderful when people recognize the “contact” and don’t miss the significance of it. And I well remember the song. To me, those are the kind of “comforts” we get and leave it to the moms to make it abundantly clear that it is “them” and they are still “involved” in our lives. What a special story and so happy you shared it.

  2. Neat story Bec. Now, what I’d really like, is to hear the song “Beautiful Isle of Somewhere”. Your mom reminds me of an article I read today about ethical wills. It talks about leaving behind the reflective wisdom of your life and why and how you lived. Your mom has already honored you with many stories of her journey. Yes, facing life often proves difficult, having memories of people who helped mold us and gave us the blessings of their personal journey is “priceless”. Thanks for sharing!!

    • Yeah . . . I hope it was a cleansing one and nothing more. Just found out one of my friends is ill—this on top of family member being ill. Stuff just pushed me to post this one today . . .

Leave a Reply

