Saints and Angels won’t lie to you.

      A good friend of mine gave me a beautiful set of Saints & Angels Oracle cards as a Christmas gift. The set was compiled by “The Angel Lady”—Doreen Virtue, Ph.D. She’s appeared on such television shows as Good Morning America, Oprah, The View and CNN to mention a few.

      There are people ‘out there’ who will never believe this, but we all have at least one guardian angel. And the saints really don’t care if you’re not Catholic.

      I tend to believe I have four guardian angels, but to this day I cannot explain what went wrong last August when I got a speeding ticket via the new speed cameras posted on I-380 around Cedar Rapids. Evidently, my four chose not to intervene on my behalf that day. Ah, well. I paid the fine and am getting on with my life in spite of it.

     Tonight I finally opened the deck and read the guidebook that came with them. The cards have beautiful artistic renditions of the major Saints and Angels. You will remember that it was an angel named Gabriel who brought the news of the new baby on Christmas—

     The card I drew was labeled ‘Steady Progress’—with a picture of St. Therese of Lisieux on it. She was a Carmelite nun who recorded her mystical experiences in a book called The Story of a Soul.

     The guidebook explained my card to me:

     “You’ve been making steady progress, and it’s important for you to recognize that this progress (not perfection) is what’s important. This is a message for you to appreciate how much you’ve already achieved and how many people you’ve helped along the way. Keep your focus away from any lapses that you think you’ve made. Guilt and regrets never helped anyone, so let them go today.

You’re also asked to forgive yourself for what you think you’ve done or not done.”

     Wow. Talk about a right-on card. I started thinking ahead to the writing projects waiting for me shortly. Maybe some of it is coming from a case of the post-holiday tireds, but for a little while today I felt overwhelmed at the thought of even starting on the shaping process on that NaNoWriMo manuscript I created in November, and scaling up my querying process for the completed Iron Angel manuscript. And getting the next two paid gigs done in the best shape and form that I can. And finishing that Unfinished Letter essay to my late grandmother that came to me one day . . .

     I put a concern to the Universe, and then drew the card that I did this evening.

     Saints and Angels. Who can’t use a little tender encouragement now and then?

3 thoughts on “Saints and Angels won’t lie to you.

  1. I most certainly agree with you. I believe very strongly in spirit guides and angels. I have a number of spirit guides, one especially for my writing.

  2. Ah, Saints and Angels, yes we all have them and if we’re truly blessed, we have a few walking amoung us here on Earth. They help motivate us when feeling overwhelmed, they bring confidence when deadlines and mental blocks cause enthusisam to waiver, they embrace us with joy and appreciation when successful achievement looms close to all our effort. They also take a step back, when it appears a lesson needs to be learned (like a heavy foot on a gas pedal!!) hehehhe!! Thanks for the reminder Bec. I am very grateful for all my angels. I will give a quiet amen and thank you to all of them today!! Good Story!!

    • Awwww…you mean you think it was time my perfect driving (er… I mean speeding…) record was set straight, huh? ;-p heheheheh……

      I promised those angels a big bonus if they don’t let it happen again!

      Glad the story offered you something.

Leave a Reply

