Christmas Eve reading thoughts . . .

     I have a tall stack of Christmas story books that I get out every Season. Among them are two stories by Welsh poet and writer Dylan Thomas that I reread every December: A Child’s Christmas in Wales, and A Conversation About Christmas. I love the man’s poetry. 

     In the final excerpt from A Conversation About Christmas, the adult finishes his dialogue with the younger one about Christmas: 

 . . . Looking through my bedroom window, out into the moonlight and the flying, unending, smoke-coloured snow, I could see the lights in the windows of all the other houses on our hill, and hear the music rising from them up the long, steadily falling night. I turned the gas down, I got into bed. I said some words to the close and holy darkness, and then I slept. 

SMALL BOY: But it all sounds like an ordinary Christmas.

SELF: It was.

SMALL BOY: But Christmas when you were a boy wasn’t any different to Christmas now.

SELF: It was, it was.

SMALL BOY: Why was Christmas different then?

SELF: I mustn’t tell you.

SMALL BOY: Why mustn’t you tell me? Why is Christmas different for me?

SELF: I mustn’t tell you.

SMALL BOY: Why can’t Christmas be the same for me as it was for you when you were a boy?

SELF: I mustn’t tell you. I mustn’t tell you because it is Christmas now. 

     All of our family is home safe tonight, and since nearly 8 inches of snow canceled out our Christmas Eve Service we lit the fireplace and dug out some games we hadn’t played in a while.

     A million calories were prepared today for tomorrow’s family Christmas dinner, and I only had to tie up a couple of loose ends for the editor on last week’s assignments and they are a ‘go.’ New assignments are on deck for next week already—which is good— but for tonight I only have to think about Christmas Eve and an old, old story. 

     Wishing peace, safety and contentment to all of you reading this. 

R’becca G.

5 thoughts on “Christmas Eve reading thoughts . . .

  1. Bec, There’s an author by the name of Kathleen (I think) Weems who wrote a book called “Kneeling in Bethlehem”. I think you would love it. It is one of those get out every Christmas books. My love to you, Wayne, the girls & families. Merry Christmas & A Happy, Healthy, continued successful writing New Year!! Hope we connect in person soooooon!!

Leave a Reply

